Education, General

The Prospects of ASASI TESL (UiTM) – 2018/2019

I know this post is quite late. I mean UPU will be closing this 10th of April. Well I don’t mind that. I mean mind can change at any second. Anyway, the reason I’m making this post is because somehow, though I didn’t further my study in TESL, been receiving a lot of inquiries from acquaintances, strangers, juniors and close friends regarding TESL stream. Specifically in UiTM. Since I’m quite tired to explain stuffs over and over again… I suppose this will help not only this year’s intake but for the upcoming intake too.. Hope so.. Well here’s my simple brief on what’s ASASI TESL and why I recommend this to you:
FIRST THINGS FIRST, WHAT THE HELL IS ASASI TESL?

Well Asasi TESL is basically a foundation program by UiTM. For those who have no idea what is foundation, it’s kinda like a matriculation program but in a university instead of a designated college. Plus, a foundation offers you a fast-track for you to further in Bachelor Studies. Basically no need for a diploma. Swift!

b8LpuHCA

So what is TESL then? It’s an acronym for Teaching English as Second Language. Get the idea? You’ll be taught in English on how to teach English to non-native English speakers. Lol. Too many English in one sentence. Well at least that’s the rough idea. Unlike other Asasi programs such as Science, Engineering and Law, TESL studies will bring you deeper into the beauty of English (plus some basic principles of education).

“So why ah, I should join this program?”

“Am I suitable for this loh?”

“My SPM ok kah for this?”

Lots and lots of questions. Why study here, you ask. Apparently I have one word to reason with that: FUN. no not the spongebob one. like pure fun.

Okay.. okay… I know it’s a lot to take in but let me try to break this down for you;

  1. Lecturers!!!

Nothing beats fun more than lecturers being participative and sporting and stuff. Well in Asasi TESL Dengkil, we have that. I know I might be old to tell this old stories… I mean me and my batch, we are like the pioneers of Dengkil. But the lecturers remain. I dont want to list out names but I tell you, they will always be there for you. No matter what! Activities, assignments, and even hanging out!! They will be there. Of course there are annoying lecturers too, but that won’t outweigh the fact that the majority of our lecturers are motherly, fatherly, brotherly and sisterly. To make it simple, we are FAMILY!.

2. The courses

I don’t know about you, but I love every single courses offered in this program. Like for real. I mean was a science stream student back in high school. Not gonna lie, it was depressing. To be introduced to language stream, and for that matter, TESL, I must say it is fun to discover English interactively.

Throughout the year, the courses are

COLLEGE WRITING – where you’ll learn to write academically. and many forms of essay.

COLLEGE READING – where you’ll read, read and read. It helps improve your vocabulary and comprehension. Yeah this subject introduce me with lots of rare English words. No lie.

LISTENING & SPEAKING – this can be somehow frustrating sometimes. you’ll be introduced to phonetics (pronunciations for English words) and at the same time you’ll be presenting your topics of choice. It enhances your verbal proficiency I assure you.

GRAMMAR – many people hates grammar. that applies even to TESLIANS. yet, I love it somehow. I guess because of the satisfaction that you can correct someone’s mistakes. Damn GRAMMAR NAZI! Hahaha

INTRODUCTORY LITERATURE – kinda like Literature Component where you learn back in high school. yeah not much different. I love it though.

LANGUAGE & DRAMA – this is surely everyone’s favourite. Drama class is like a Physical Education class back in high school. lol. seriously. you’ll do a lot of physical activities that are fun. at the same time, you’ll also analyse some great drama components. It’s good. seriously. Oh one more thing, your carry marks will be graded based on your drama performance!

Fun right? No? Well let me help you to be optimistic… you don’t need to bring calculator throughout the semester. I mean, no calculation involves! No numbers!! AYEEEE!!

3. The Atmosphere (Applies to other Dengkil programs too)

FUN itself is an atmosphere. Well we’re going to focus more on the campus itself. The activities and what can you do there. A brief introduction: the Dengkil campus was opened on December 2015, it houses six residential colleges, three academic complex and an administration building (which basically is the tallest structure in Dengkil). How bout dat? In addition, as it is a very new campus, the facilities are good. You have washing machines, a food court which can accomodate all six colleges, a drama studio, a sports field and a mosque. Yeah basically Dengkil is self-sufficient.

download (1)
Studio Orkid, this is where Language & Drama class will be held

Well if facilities aren’t your type of fun, I tell you the activities. We’re going to focus more on TESL here. To be honest, my batch never had the chance the experience all the activities in Dengkil so what I’m telling you is based on the second batch of Dengkil. Which were my juniors too.

PAIRED DRAMA PERFORMANCE – every TESLIANS will be performing. I mean they are graded.

maxresdefault (1).jpg
That’s a dynamic duo to you.. Paired Performance yass

READER’S THEATRE – also graded for the TESLIANS. well I favour this one more as it instill numbers of humour and at the same time being interactive with the audience.

hqdefault (1)
Seems empty but the theatre performance is one in a million!

MOVIE CIRCLE – that’s just how university students make money don’t we?

SPORTS DAY – I am not a man of sport, but it is fun to see each college competing. I mean I love competition though. This is when we feel united.

LIVE BUSKING – the best thing is those who are busking might be your friends! Wouldn’t you be proud to see your friends singing or jamming? I will!

And many more other activities that I can’t recall. To check out more, you can search #dengkilperform on twitter.

Oh ya! And a special mention to my pioneer TESL batch’s event: #GlowDGKL
WOAH! TESL SOUNDS COOL… SO ERM.. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO SIGN HERE?

Not many things to considered. Like seriously. Though the exact requirements for SPM leavers to join this program are quite blurry, I would say you need to score at least an “A” in English for your SPM and at the same time, didn’t fail in your ADD MATH and MATH. Plus, before even being selected as TESLIANS, there will be a written test and an interview to prove your worthy. So yeah, go and google all your seniors’ previous interviewing experiences. It’s lit!
FINAL THOUGHTS

As an alumni to Asasi TESL, of course I will suggest this program to everyone. Just ask yourself, are you game for a language stream? Don’t be afraid and overthink over your job scope, I mean I was a TESLIAN but turns out I further my Bachelor in German Studies. How rare is that? Still, TESL taught me a lot. Know this one thing, language connects all the knowledges in the world. Be proud of language stream! Oh btw, UiTM is not the only university that offers Asasi in English. IIUM offers it too though the difference is they weren’t taught on Basic Principles of Education. All in all, I wish you all the best in your future ventures! I will be glad to help you guys from A-Z if this stream is your interest.

p/s : sorry for the lack of photos. I mean this is quite last minute thoughts

16 thoughts on “The Prospects of ASASI TESL (UiTM) – 2018/2019”

    1. Hello dear, sorry for the late reply. I am not sure. Considering our govt current situation, allowance is highly unlikely. Or maybe to selected few as in those who are really in need only.

      Hope my answer helps.

      Like

    1. Hi.. Heres the outline according to my year (2015/2016)

      First Semester :
      Grammar I
      College Writing I
      College Reading I
      Listening and Speaking I
      College Study Skills
      Fundamentals of Islam I
      Computer Literacy
      Malaysian Studies

      Second Semester:
      Grammar II
      College Writing II
      College Reading II
      Listening & Speaking II
      Basic Principle of Education
      Language and Drama
      Introduction to Literature
      Fundamentals of Islam II

      As of 2019/2020, this outline is still applicable but there might be slight changes in the coming year. Hope this helps!

      Like

    1. Hello dear. Honestly i dont have any exposure in psychology field. You can try to look up their prerequisite first. However as far as im concerned, you actually can. I know psychology is either an education stream or social science stream which is still under TESL jurisdiction. So it makes sense. But to be certain, just try to look up their requirements ok? All the best!

      Like

  1. Hi! I got my SPM result recently and I got 5As3B and 1C+ (which is Addmaths lol). I got an A+ for English and I want to apply TESL foundation but is my result good enough? I mean some people think 5A is not that good… I really appreciate your reply. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Hello there! Due to our current situation, I’ve been asked to do a visume instead of a face to face interview. One of the questions is why did I choose TESL. Do you have any tips on how to answer this question?

    Like

    1. Hi there. I hope its not too late. This would be my personal answer. You can copy it or improvise and personalize it. Im fine.

      “I choose TESL because English is the third most widely spoken language in the world. It is also the international language of business and commerce. Speaking English will connect me to many different people. Plus, by being an english teacher, I will be able to contribute to the nation by educating english language to those in need. At the same time, I can improve my english skills. Besides teaching english, being a teacher can also help me to share any form of knowledge that I have learned with my students. Last but not least, I am sharing my passion.”

      You can read and digest what my intention was here. Try to personalize it. Ask yourself. Why choose tesl? The more personal you get, the easier you can convince the panel.

      All the best for !!

      Like

      1. Hello! Your response have been very helpful for me to elaborate on my own justification. If you don’t mind, I mentioned your blog in my visume. Just as a reference when I was talking about UITM. Truly from the bottom of my heart, thank you!

        Like

  3. hello there i really hope that your are still active on this site. i see that you pursuing in german studies after taking tesl. i want to do that too but with japan language studies. do you learn the language on scratch at degree level or you had learnt the basics beforehand?. also, was it possible if i want to teach english at japan by taking tesl and japan studies even though im not a native speaker? i hope you can enlighten me as im really confuse and i haveno one that i know who’s pursuing in language huhu. sorry if my sentence is confusing

    Like

    1. Hi! I may not be actively writing blogs but I’m certainly still available to answer some of your questions.

      Yes, I studied German after finishing my Asasi TESL. For me, I did have my German basics beforehand. But it doesn’t matter since when I study German at UPM, we literally start from scratch too. I recommend you go through my posts with regards to my “German Studies in UPM”. It should give you an idea of how I go from TESL to German Studies. Give it a read and share!

      But to be upfront, I have no idea whether there is an available “Full Japan” Degree course in Malaysia. You need to be very proactive to look for it.

      Can you teach English in Japan? Yes! Do you need to be a native speaker? Not necessarily! But it is subject to available opportunities and timing. Back when I studied at UPM, some of my English Studies friends managed to be practical teacher there. But then again, it’s pure luck since it’s not annually the opportunities come. Again, be proactive to look for opportunities. Start networking with Japan-related Educators. That’s the least I can assist you.

      Again, on my concern on available Japan course, I am really not sure whether there is any. In the worst-case scenario, you can still further your degree in TESL/English Studies and take Japanese class as an extra curriculum. We have that in UPM and I’m certain there is one in UM too.

      I applaud your enthusiasm and look forward to more Malaysians that have a passion for Foreign Language! All the best in your journey!!

      If you feel troubled to exchange words with me, I am always available for DM via LinkedIn/IG. Cheers!

      Like

Leave a comment